After the Fireworks

After the Fireworks

Aldous Huxley

  • $12.50
    Prix unitaire par 
Frais de port calculés à l'étape de paiement.

Sera en stock à compter de

"After the Fireworks is a major work and a turning point for Huxley, leading directly to Brave New World.” —Gary Giddins

A striking collection of three lost classic pieces of short fiction by Aldous Huxley, author of Brave New World, now available as a Harper Perennial Olive Edition.

In the title novella, set in Rome, a renowned novelist sets out on a walk down Via Condotti toward the Spanish Steps when he encounters a mysterious and beautiful young American admirer of his work. He discovers she shares a name, in addition to conspicuous personality traits, with a character from his most celebrated book. Both are irresistibly drawn into a dangerous affair set against the backdrop of the Italian capital. "Uncle Spencer" is the story of an aging World War I veteran’s quest for his lost love he met in a prison during the war, and "Two or Three Graces" is the tale of a passionate and destructive writer’s abusive relationship with an impressionable, bourgeois housewife. This extraordinary story collection reveals Huxley at the height of his literary powers.

This book part of a special series from Harper Perennial called Olive Editions—exclusive small-format editions of some of our bestselling and celebrated titles, featuring beautiful and unique hand-drawn cover illustrations. All Olive Editions are available for a limited time only 

Product details

ISBN-13: 9780063269613

Number of pages: 416

Format: Paperback / softback

Imprint: Harper Perennial

français fr